Historic Preservation Awards

2019 Harford County Historic Preservation Awards


The Harford County Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) in conjunction with the Department of Planning and Zoning is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2019 Historic Preservation Awards.  The 23rd Historic Preservation Awards continue a tradition started in 1995 to honor excellence in historic preservation within Harford County. The Awards will be presented at a ceremony in May 2019 in honor of Historic Preservation Month.

The biennial awards recognize significant contributions in the field of historic preservation made by individuals, organizations, community groups, and local governments within Harford County.


  • Two year window: Projects, exhibits, publications, presentations, etc. nominated for an award must have been completed (or published, presented, showcased, etc.) between January 1, 2017 and December 31st, 2018;
  • All Preservation Projects must demonstrate that they followed the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties;
  • Homeowner, municipal, and historic district infill projects are welcome, as long as they follow the above mentioned standards;
  • Nominations may come from the community, individuals, organizations or the Commission itself.

When deemed appropriate, the Commission may designate multiple recipients for any or all Awards in a given year. The Commission is under no obligation to make any Award or Awards in each category in a given year. Nominations will no longer roll over to the next awards; nominations must be resubmitted to be considered.

Awards are presented in four categories: Preservation Project Awards, Special Preservation Awards, Local Government Preservation Award, and the Preservationist Honor Award.  Each award category is described in the 2019 Historic Preservation Award Nomination Packet.

Please contact the County’s Historic Preservation Planner, Caitlin Merritt, with any questions at (410) 638-3101 x. 1385 or via email, cemerritt@harfordcountymd.gov .

2019 Nomination Packet